Medical Access: In Tiered there is Simplicity

Some Ramblings:

I had found my purpose at the age of 19, when I was interning at a village hospital in remote part of India. That purpose struck me as I stood, a lost and confused commuter who had just been informed that her only transportation back to her house in the city (2 hrs away) had been canceled. It was a shuttle bus, taken by the lesser privileged patients lacking a car to get from the city to this isolated, but renowned cancer-center. Sweaty, dirty I stood in the heat asking passersby and hospital staff on what to do next.

And then the march of the air-conditioned, shaded-windowed cars of the doctors and the upper-class patients from within started. As their wheels threw dust on my simple Indian garment and blissfully tuned out the troubled faces of my fellow abandoned travelers and me, I finally understood what it felt like – being on the other side of the fence. And, therein, as this divide between the poor and the rich, this wide, large gap hit a bit close to home – I saw my purpose.

I want to help bridge this gap. I desire nothing more than to equalize the current embarrassing inequality of resources. I am driven by mind rather than by emotion and I would not ever take away from the rich the money that they have rightfully earned, but I would endear them to invest a small percentage of it in funds that help with societal development and financial stability for the unprivileged. I advocate social enterprise not a charity organization. I have a background in healthcare and biotech pharmaceuticals so my application of the idea would be in that arena. I want to join/begin an initiative that specifically invests money into healthcare technologies, drug delivery companies and mechanisms that have the capabilities to reach a global audience, irrespective of their geographic location or their paying strength. Access to medicine is a human right; especially access to basic medicine and simple-diseases prevention means. For example, no child, in this century, should die out of a water-borne disease. There is something grievously wrong when a child of 5 dies from drinking the only water source in his area while most of the developed world has over a dozen different types of water to choose from (sparkling, still, tap, flavored, sugared, spiced, etc).

A tiered structure. Same as is advocated by the liberals everywhere when concerning taxes – if you earn more, you pay more to the government. This is what the structure should be when it comes to giving out drugs in Globally.

Read the article below to get a thrilling perspective and insight on a case on drug pricing in Costa Rica:

ONE GIRL’S HOPE, A NATION’S DILEMMA

This article is an especially fascinating case study that reveals the multi-problematic drug delivery and payment system that exists today. The drug, Cerezyme, is one that is developed by my ex-company, Genzyme.

Leave a Reply

